After almost twelve hours of negotiations in Brussels, the heads of states and governments of the 28 EU member states reached an agreement regarding the handling of the migrant issue, ensuring Italy’s consent, which threatened to exercise a veto.

More specifically, the heads of states of the 28 EU member states agreed to establish common reception centers for asylum seekers, where their applications will also be handled, and to limit the freedom of the migrants’ movement from one country to another. They also agreed to carry out stricter controls at the external borders, by strengthening Frontex, as well as to increase the funding to Turkey, Morocco and other countries in northern Africa, in order to restrain migration flows to Europe.