MP for the Independent Greeks Mr. Yorgos Lazarides announced his resignation citing his disagreement regarding the Agreement on FYROM’s nomenclature.

The ruling majority now stands at 152 seats (145 of the Coalition of the Radical Left, 7 of the Independent Greeks) in a 300-seat parliament.

For his part, government spokesperson Mr. Dimitris Tzanakopoulos expressed his conviction that “the government majority is not only not threatened but totally stable”, while he called for further explanations on Mr. Lazarides’ resignation, one that comes just a few days after the historic Eurogroup decision to exit the memoranda surveillance program.