33 MEPs from 16 countries from the entire political spectrum, (Left, Socialists, Greens, European People’s Party, Conservatives and Liberals), with the exception of the Far Right, have written a letter to the Norwegian Nobel Committee supporting the candidacy of the Prime ministers of Greece and North Macedonia, Alexis Tsipras and Zoran Zaev, respectively, for the Nobel Peace Prize 2019.

“This is the first time that such a pioneering agreement is reached in the Balkans. Their nomination for the Nobel Peace Prize conveys the message that courage and progressive thinking beyond national borders should be rewarded,” wrote the 33 MEPs thus supporting the proposal of the 2015 Nobel Peace Prize winner, Wided Bouchamaoui, regarding the awarding of Mr. Tsipras and Mr. Zoran Zaev.