There is a broad consensus regarding the nomination of Ekaterini Sakellaropoulou for the presidency of the Hellenic Republic, and is thus expected to be elected on the first Parliamentary vote to take place next Wednesday.

The leaders of SYRIZA and KINAL, Alexis Tsipras and Fofi Gennimata respectively announced their unanimous support.

However, KKE, the Greek Solution and DiEM25 said that they will vote against the prime minister’s proposal.

Given this, Ms. Sakellaropoulou’s candidacy is expected to get 266 votes from ND, SYRIZA and KINAL, which is more than the 200 needed to be elected on the first Parliamentary vote.