Ekaterini Sakellaropoulou was elected to become the new President of the Hellenic Republic, by 261 votes. 294 MPs were at the voting round, with 33 voting ‘present’ and six absences. Ms. Sakellaropoulou’s candidacy garnered more votes than the required two-thirds majority.

The Prime Minister had a phone conversation with Ms. Sakellaropoulou, congratulating her on her election, and welcomed the vast majority, stressing that we can all finally agree on the big issues. Mr. Mitsotakis also spoke about a new era that the country is entering which is marked by the election of Ms. Sakellaropoulou.

Outgoing President of the Republic, Prokopis Pavlopoulos, contacted the newly elected President by telephone after the vote, expressing his sincere congratulations and every success in the performance of her duties. The President of EU Commission, Ursula von der Leyen also congratulated the first female President of the Greek Republic.