The concession of 14 regional airports to FRAPORT GREECE was completed yesterday, April 11th, with the payment of the lump sum price of 1.23 billion euros  to the HRADF.

These airports are in Aktion, Hania, Kavala, Corfu, Kos, Lesvos, Mykonos, Rhodes, Samos, Santorini, Skiathos, Thessaloniki, Kefalonia and Zakynthos.

The company undertakes the operation, maintenance and development of the airports for the next 40 years with the investment in infrastructure for the duration of the concession period exceeding 1.4 billion euros.

The immediate works which are to start at the airports include general cleaning, improving the lighting and signaling in the interiors and exteriors of the airports, the upgrading and improvement of sanitary facilities as well as the improvement of the services provided.

Five new terminals will be built in the first 4 years at the airports of Thessaloniki, Corfu, Kefalonia, Kos and Lesvos. The complete size of the 14 terminals at the airports will increase to  300.000m2 in total.

In addition, there will be renewal and modernization of the interior and exterior of the airports.