The motion of censure against the government, brought after the agreement on FYROM’s name, has been voted down, with 153 “no” from SYRIZA-ANEL parties and 127 “yes” from New Democracy, the Movement for Change, the Union of Centrists and the Golden Dawn parties. 280 MPs voted in total, as the Communist Party of Greece (KKE) had stepped out of the discussion.

Prime Minister Alexis Tsipras accused New Democracy of political cynicism, arguing that they are only interested in overthrowing the government before the country’s exit from the memoranda. On his part, New Democracy President Kyriakos Mitsotakis explained that he brought a motion of censure in order to make all MPs take on responsibility for the agreement with FYROM.