The candidacies for the Cypriot presidential election on January 28, 2018 will be formally submitted to the general election commissioner this Friday.

There are nine candidates in total and as the polls indicate, a second round will probably take place on February 4 for the election of the new president.

According to the polls, Cyprus’ current president, Nicos Anastasiades will secure the most votes on the first round, but it is uncertain who he will be running against on the second round. Nicholas Papadopoulos of the center-right DIKO party and Stavros Malas, backed by the AKEL party are Anastasiades’ main opponents.

The President of the Citizens’ Alliance, George Lillikas, ELAM President Christos Christou, as well as Haris Aristidou, Christakis Kapiliotis, Andreas Efstratiou and Michalis Minas have also submitted their candidacies.