The prestigious “Ewald von Kleist” prize has been awarded to the prime ministers of Greece and North Macedonia, Alexis Tsipras and Zoran Zaev respectively, in recognition for the Prespes Agreement.

At a special event attended by over 500 distinguished guests from all over the world, including Heads of State and Government, the two leaders were honored by the Munich Security Conference (MSC) for their contribution to the peaceful resolution of disputes in the Balkans.

“Alexis Tsipras and Zoran Zaev, supported by many others, have overcome a name dispute that was an obstacle to European security cooperation for too long. Their example demonstrates that even seemingly unsolvable conflicts can be solved”, wrote Wolfgang Ischinger, the Munich Security Conference Chairman on Twitter.